Each issue we interview one of the amazing members of the SCG Team!  This issue our Featured Colleague is KIMBERLY!

Q: How did you get started in fintech and what made you choose fintech as a field?

A: Most of my career was spent working in financial institutions. I have been on the client side of multiple core and accounting system conversions, giving me a different perspective into the needs of the client. Typically, financial institution teams are tasked with conversion preparation in addition to their day-to-day responsibilities. I enjoy taking some of that weight off their shoulders. Darren reached out to me at the perfect time to introduce me to the consulting world.


Q: What makes working in fintech consulting different compared to working within a team at a financial institution?

A: Consulting has allowed me to make new connections, I’ve met several amazing people from across the country. I love to learn, in interactions with clients and team-members, I’ve learned so much that I can use to help future clients. I also enjoy the flexibility of consulting, working from home without a commute gives me more time to spend with family and friends.


Q: What are the most impactful changes/biggest ‘wins’ that you have been able to recommend and implement with financial institution finance teams?

A: Most of my work has been within the accounting sphere and a couple of my biggest successes involved creating a new Federal Reserve reconciliation and clearing an Official Check reconciliation. Through many hours of research in multiple systems a team of us cleared both reconciliations, automated what we could and left clear instructions for ongoing reconciliation.


Q: What advice would you give to someone who is interested in breaking into fintech consulting?

A: Network, build relationships with clients and team members. Learn as much as you can from them. The unknown can be intimidating but don’t let that stop you from moving forward.


Q: How do you prefer to spend your time when you are not working with your clients?

A: Most of my time is spent with family and friends. Much of the spring is spent watching my daughter play soccer. Outside of that I love to travel, primarily to tropical destinations.